CDRA honors awards recipients during C&D World

Pictured from left to right: Kevin Herb, CDRA past president; Bayshore Recycling owners Frank Montecalvo and Valerie Montecalvo; and Gary Sondermeyer, vice president of operations, Bayshore Recycling.

The Construction & Demolition Recycling Association (CDRA), Milwaukee, honored recipients of its 2017 C&D Recycling Awards during C&D World, March 8 at Bally’s in Las Vegas.

Frank and Valerie Montecalvo of Bayshore Recycling, Keasbey, New Jersey, were welcomed into the 2017 class of the Construction & Demolition Recycling Hall of Fame. First introduced at C&D World 2013, the Construction & Demolition Recycling Hall of Fame honors those individuals whose careers have best served the industry and the CDRA.

Asphalt Shingle Grinding Service, Peru, Indiana, was named the 2017 CDRA Recycler of the Year. The Recycler of the Year recognizes the individual or company that exemplifies excellence in the C&D industry. The award is meant to honor those recycling operations in the industry who have made an extraordinary contribution to the industry.

Terry Weaver of USA Gypsum, Denver, Pennsylvania, was named 2017 CDRA Member of the Year. The CDRA Member of the Year is presented to the board member or committee member who has most served the association in the previous year. The Member of the Year is selected by the CDRA president based on extraordinary service to the mission of the organization and the C&D recycling industry.

StopWaste, Oakland, California, received the 2017 CDRA President’s Award. The CDRA President’s Award is a special recognition for companies that have provided innovative ways to increase C&D recycling in North America.

More information about the awards is available at

National Demolition Association names new president

The National Demolition Association (NDA), Washington, has announced Scott Knightly of EnviroVantage, Epping, New Hampshire, has been named president of the association for the 2017-2018 term.


“I am excited about working with the board of directors and the executive committee including: NDA CEO Cheryl Caulfield; Vice President Christopher Godek; Secretary Scott Homrich; Treasurer James Milburn; Peter Bigwood, Jonathan Carlton; Barbee Cox; Brian Hornyak; Bill Moore; and Jerry Myrick. This is a group of highly successful demolition and association professionals producing and accomplishing many lofty goals,” Knightly says.

Knightly joined the NDA in 2005. In 2007, he was elected to the board, serving in all key executive roles prior to his election to president Jan. 31, 2017 at the annual business meeting held at Demolition 2017 Convention & Expo in Las Vegas.

Knightly says he is looking forward to serving as the president of the association.

“I look forward to serving the NDA in my new role as President,” Knightly says. “My goal will be for all demolition companies to be members of this organization, large and small. We were once all small companies but were able to grow and build our companies through knowledge. The NDA has that knowledge and the means of getting it out to those who need it.”

The National Demolition Association represents more than 600 demolition companies throughout the U.S. and Canada. More information about the association is available at